Happens all the time - business as usual. A security officer himself is not authorized to issue visas so he would have had to bring in someone else from the Visa Section to stamp the passports and when more than one person is involved you know that it is no longer a secret. A long time ago when I worked there they had a Consular Officer they called him "Idi Amin" (very tall black guy used to live in the Apartments at the corner of Trafalgar & Hope Roads he was known for taking home the stamp and would "sell" visas from his home. I had a relative called me once and left a message regarding passport for her son and the next day I was called into the Security Officer (always a CIA operative) office to explain what the message meant. It is a nice side business the most lucrative one being importation of duty free items from cars, supermarket goods to household effects - all duty free. This guy just got careless.
Deejay’s visa sinks US official
Originally posted by RichD View Postwhen did you work there St Bess?
I left in 1979 worked in Admin/General Services on the 5th floor (Mutual Life Building). Do you remember when the JA Government published the names of "so called" ABC agents and it was in the Gleaner and on TV - well they made a few mistakes and a couple of us (3 to 4) Jamaicans names were on the list so we had to high tail it out of the country. Even some Jamaicans who worked with USAID not the State Department were on the list also.
Originally posted by St_Bess View PostI left in 1979 worked in Admin/General Services on the 5th floor (Mutual Life Building). Do you remember when the JA Government published the names of "so called" ABC agents and it was in the Gleaner and on TV - well they made a few mistakes and a couple of us (3 to 4) Jamaicans names were on the list so we had to high tail it out of the country. Even some Jamaicans who worked with USAID not the State Department were on the list also.
i worked there in 86/87 consulate on oxford rd.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Postno I don't recall that incident.
i worked there in 86/87 consulate on oxford rd.
Yes, that was down the street otherwise known as the "Visa Section". They also had Citizenship & Passport at that location. The administrative offices, USIS & USAID were in the Mutual Life Building Oxford & I want to say Old Hope Road.
Originally posted by St_Bess View PostI left in 1979 worked in Admin/General Services on the 5th floor (Mutual Life Building). Do you remember when the JA Government published the names of "so called" ABC agents and it was in the Gleaner and on TV - well they made a few mistakes and a couple of us (3 to 4) Jamaicans names were on the list so we had to high tail it out of the country. Even some Jamaicans who worked with USAID not the State Department were on the list also.
I remember that list.
I wonder where I can find it?
Originally posted by Yuriatin View PostAh wanda is which dj dat sah?
OR
Desmond "Ninjaman" Ballentine: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ninjaman
Originally posted by jah_yout View Postprobably a set up...
else you would have gotten another message later saying "infawma fi dead!!"
By the way, who did the original of Shine Eye Gyal.
A shine eye gyal is a trouble to a man, she want and she want and she want everyting
She wan' bangle and she wan' gold ring, etc.
...or maybe that was a dub. I was thinking Trinity but I can't find it.
Not this one:
Oops don't like the album cover.
Last edited by Tropicana; 02-09-2013, 11:16 AM.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostJah-yout.....who is that old White man in your avatar....look like you gawn de odah way!
By the way, who did the original of Shine Eye Gyal.
A shine eye gyal is a trouble to a man, she want and she want and she want everyting
She wan' bangle and she wan' gold ring, etc.
...or maybe that was a dub. I was thinking Trinity but I can't find it.
Not this one:
Oops don't like the album cover.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MI87gHOMpTI
"that old white man" is the great Jamaican born author JA Rogers...author of such powerful works as "Sex and Race" and "From Superman to Man"---which should be required reading for every black high school senior..:
he's of African descent...
the original "Shine eye gyal" to me is a ring game we used to Play as likkle yutes...